I Remember 9/11

It is September 11, 2007. What does NPR say about the significance of this day in history? That six years ago 2 jet liners “went off course.” And then they went on with the rest of the news…Umm, what?

In addition to the planes taking a wrong turn, they were hijacked,250px-national_park_service_9-11_statue_of_liberty_and_wtc_fire.jpg by terrorists and then purposefully flown into 2 different World Trade Center towers. And then they fell to the ground. And another plane crashed before it got to the Pentagon and penetrated the outer walls of the Pentagon. And finally the sacrificial take-down and crash of United Flight 93. A whole lot of people died that day. People from all over the world. Innocent people.

I guess those were minor details. Or boring.

America was attacked on September 11, 2001. I refuse to forget. I hope you won’t either. Heck, I can’t forget. I remember where I was…at work, watching the second plane hit and the towers fall. And then being glued to the TV for the next few weeks. One of the most terrifying images (and sounds) burned into my brain are of those that jumped from windows to their death. That still haunts me today.

I also remember who took responsibility-Bin Laden-who is the leader and founder of al-Qeada-who’s objectives include the end of foreign influence in Muslim countries and the creation of a new Islamic caliphate (Bin Laden’s ultimate intention?). This idea of caliphate is pretty huge. I invite you to read more about what Orson Scott Card has to say on this subject here-basically a caliph could unite the Muslim world and expand al-Qeada on a global scale-Islamic world domination. And believe me, uniting Muslims throughout the world whose primary intentions are to kill infidels…very bad.

I remember what countries were training terrorists (Iraq, Iran, Afghanistan, Jordan, Syria, etc). I remember what country refused to follow UN resolutions (Iraq); many resolutions were dismissed. I remember that EVERYONE agreed that there were WMD, even former President Clinton-and that Husssein would not let inspectors look in all places to prove otherwise. I remember the atrocities that were occurring under a dictator (Saddam Hussein). I also remember the lives that have been lost, the soldiers that have made ultimate sacrifices, a war mismanaged and a war that must be won in a country that must not be overtaken by an Islamifaciast group like al-Qeada or the Taliban.

Or am I off course too?

-Durk-

One response to “I Remember 9/11

  1. response became long, so I put it here: http://joeschilibarn.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

