11 Presidential Issues

Building on the last post (http://www.wqad.com/Global/link.asp?L=259460) I want to talk a bit about the 11 issies reflected in the 11 Questions from the survey.

Issue #1 Iraq: Question: What is your opinion on the war in Iraq? I can only assume that the 6 answers were a summary of all the candidates. I didn’t agree with any one answer, but I closest identified with: “We are going to be in Iraq for a long time, as a support force for the Iraqi government and forces.” I believe the US should should hunker down, and militarily keep peace, set up a permanent base and start to focus on rebuilding while we train their military and create a completely safe environment for the Iraqis to form their government. The killing HAS to stop-and that can only be done with an effective military/police presence (Iraqi and foreign). My preferred exit strategy: None, we set up shop just like Germany and Japan. And we support the government in the same way-let them become independent, but never out of our sight. Or we leave and watch the whole country fall apart-which is lose-lose for everyone. I selected “Very Important.”

Issue #2: Immigration: Question: What is your position on immigration in the United States? Again, I didn’t agree 100% with any one answer. And I think I choose a different answer each time. I am trying to find the Christian answer to this and not just the Republican answer. Security is the most important part of this one to me, the US needs to know who is coming here. A fence is a joke. I don’t believe in blanket amnesty, but I don’t think the answer is splitting up families and blanket deportation either. I don’t support government-funded welfare either, you can’t just come to this country and not work! I like the bill that was just presented extending amnesty to children who were dragged here by their family. I believe in stiff fines and penalties for employers. I think denying citizenship for children born here to illegals is insane and not to mention, illegal. So I guess I’ll pick ‘Tighten security first, but I also believe we should provide a path to citizenship for illegal immigrants who are already here.” And pick 3rd out of most important.

Issue #3: Taxes: Question: Do you believe the 2001 and 2003 tax cuts should be made permanent? This is where my conservatism shines through. YES. Plain and simple. Importance: let’s make it a 2.

Issue #4: Stem-Cell Research: Question: Should federal funding of embryonic stem cell research be expanded? This is where my pro-life stance shines through…Nope, especially federally-funded. Now having said that there is stem cell research that does NOT include embryonic. I have no problems with that. I still have a problem with the federal government funding it. Importance? Eh, I don’t know. Is this a big deal? The short answer is that it depends. I’ll make it a 2.

Issue #5: Health Care: Question: Do you favor or oppose the concept of universal health care in America? A few months ago I would have opposed this. Today…I keep asking myself what is the compassionate thing to do? And I keep asking what is the best for those that simply can’t afford to pay for health care? And the reasonable answer is to favor universal health care. I don’t want my taxes raised because of it. Importance: Pretty high, 3.

Issue: 6: Abortion: Do you favor or oppose legalized abortion in the United States?  Of course I picked that I oppose legalized abortion.  Not much room for debate there.  However, the importance…I hope this isn’t news:  abortion is legal in the US.  And it would take some pretty huge legislation to change that.  As a Christian I believe that abortion is a modern, on-going holocaust.  However, the US is not a Christian nation!  It is secularizing at a pretty good clip.  So even though it is important to ME I don’t think abortion will significantly change in the near future-no matter what the president vbeleives.  Unless maybe if the Church steps up and becomes known for the place to have your baby in a safe environment that pays expenses and gives the child a good home.  I rated it as a 2.

Issue 7:  Social Security: Question:  Do you favor the concept of privatization of Social Security to any degree? Conservative me:  Yep.  Importance:  High, 4th (highest).  What to say.  I hope that I can take advantage of Social Security benefits when I retire.  I think I can invest money better than the US government.

Issue 8:  Line-Item Veto: Question:  Do you favor or oppose giving the president a “line-item” veto; that is, the ability to remove parts of a spending bill without needing to veto the entire bill? Yes I do and not that important, 2.  Sometimes less is more.  At least part of the bill would get passed without sneaky pork spending!

Issue #9:  Energy: Question:  Do you support federal assistance for the production of ethanol and/or biofuel as an alternative to oil? Yeah.  It is time to the US becomes more independent from foreign oil.  And I don;t think that the private market cares to step up.  So I think it is BEST for all in the US if the gov’t paid for it.  Importance:  Well, would we be in IRaq if we were like primitive South American countries that are independent from any foreign fuels?  No, Saddam would still be killing people.  So it is of the highest importance, 4.

Issue #10:  Marriage: Question:  Do you favor or oppose a constitutional amendment defining marriage as between one man and one woman? Yawn.  This is an issue that detracts from other important issues.  Don’t mess with the federal Constitution, leave the issue up to states where the power belongs.  So oppose, importance, not very, I give it a 1.

Issue #11:  Death Penalty: Question:  Do you favor or oppose the use of the death penalty for certain crimes?  Let’s just say I am consistent, I don’t believe in killing unborn babies nor born grown-ups.  I know that the Bible allows for it.  I get it. Would Jesus go around killing?  No.  Another issue that tends to detract from starving people who can’t afford health care and can’t find paying jobs. Importance:  Well, more important than issue #10, 2.

Candidate:  Sam Brownback?  Yeah right.  Fred is like 10th!  But I have filled it out where he was like 3rd or 4th.  Anyway, I’m with Fred for now.  And YES, the results DID surprise me.

So here is MY criteria:  I will vote for a candidate that most alignes with the way I believe.  I won’t single out one issue.   I will also vote for a candidate that has a chance in hades to win.  A vote for a 3rd party is a vote for Clinton!  And that is simply bad news.  So let’s say it comes down to Hillary vs. Giuliani…I will vote Republican.

-Durk-

4 responses to “11 Presidential Issues

  1. When I really started looking at the different candidates views, I realized that, contrary to my ultra conservative upbringing, democrats don’t enjoy killing babies. And I think that we’re are more on the same page about abortion than we realize. Most democrats it seems like, while they see it as a woman’s right (which I don’t agree with), think that it needs to happen as minimally as possible, and that it should not be used as an excuse to forgo sexual responsibility. While I think it should not be legal, I also think that there needs to be better programs at addressing the deeper issue-that too many are having sex without concern for consequences.

    Derin Says: If this is true…and I have nothing that says you are wrong…then these democrats need to stand up and voice their opinions. They can say that they hope people don’t chose abortion. They can say that they don’t think people should use abortion as casual birth control. They can still be pro-choice and not like abortion-and they should say so!

    The famous reporter Carl Bernstein was on KMBZ last night promoting his new book about Mrs. Clinton, “A Woman in Charge”. He made MANY (unbelievable) claims-that Hillary was not interested in being president until impeachment, that she is deeply in love with her husband and that she is a committed Christian. I have NOTHING to refute this, zero, zip, nadda-EXCEPT that I have never heard such things from the lips of Hillary Clinton herself! If she believes this stuff privately why can’t she talk about it publicly? And of course actions speak louder than words. Why do we have to hear this stuff from outsiders? Why should we believe it? Why can’t the sources remove all doubt about what they believe? Again, one can be pro-choice and understand that abortion is legal but then say that they believe it is wrong-but that they don’t intend to change the law! At least we’d understand what they believe and understand their intentions.

    -Derin-

  2. Here are some quotes from Clinton on abortion- there are more of them at http://ontheissues.org/Social/Hillary_Clinton_Abortion.htm:

    Keep abortion safe, legal and rare
    We come to [the abortion] issue as men and women, young and old, some far beyond years when we have to worry about getting pregnant, others too young to remember what it was like in the days before Roe v. Wade. But I think it’s essential that as Americans we look for that common ground that we can all stand upon. [Our] core beliefs and values. can guide us in reaching our goal of keeping abortion safe, legal and rare into the next century.
    Source: Remarks to NARAL, Washington DC Jan 22, 1999

    Being pro-choice is not being pro-abortion
    I have met thousands and thousands of pro-choice men and women. I have never met anyone who is pro-abortion. Being pro-choice is not being pro-abortion. Being pro-choice is trusting the individual to make the right decision for herself and her family, and not entrusting that decision to anyone wearing the authority of government in any regard.
    Source: Remarks at NARAL, Washington, DC Jan 22, 1999

    Reach out to teens to reduce teen sex problems
    Fewer teens are having sex, getting pregnant, and having abortions, but there are clearly too many young people who have not gotten the message. Every teenager must be reached. More has to be done to reach out to young men, and enlist them in the campaign to make abortions rare, and to make it possible for them to define their lives in terms other than what they imagine sexual prowess and fatherhood being.

  3. Derin,

    I know what it means to be conservative or liberal in certain areas. But what does it mean to be liberal or conservative in terms of economic? I am sometimes pretty fuzzy on this, and it seems like you understand it pretty well.

  4. 30 day Challenge.

    Derin, I challenge you to do something I did awhile ago. Turn off the conservative talk-radio. Just as with everything in media they are pushing an agenda, and it’s not necessarily the Jesus agenda, despite what they may protest. This goes for 980 KMBZ, for 710 KCMO, even 92.3 or whatever that Bott (as in robot) radio network is. Spend that time each day in a different way, whether it be prayer, time with family, talking to a co-worker, or reading blogs. I have found strength in confronting my demons, and it has opened my eyes to the brokenness.

    Your commie friend,
    David

Leave a Reply

