Blessed Beyond Grace and Giving Thanks

I used a new phrase in the past couple of weeks, “Blessed beyond Grace”. Now, I don’t know if I actually coined it, but I can’t consciously remember hearing it. And, quite frankly, I like the phrase a whole lot. At first read there is no such thing as being blessed outside of grace. But I mean it to say that I am blessed beyond Grace (capital G). Beyond salvation, beyond reconciliation, beyond forgiveness. I am blessed even though I have been made right with God and have a relationship through Jesus Christ. I am blessed even beyond that. God has chosen, for whatever reason (and let’s be accurate-out of grace) to bless me with many other things in addition to salvation (Grace). I hope that makes sense…God continues to pile on the goodness on top of salvation.

I was born in the richest nation in the world. I have clean running water that probably has fluoride for the teeth and minerals added for good health . I don’t merely live in shelter, but a 3-bedroom duplex with a garage and basement. And not out in the sticks or isolation or in the middle of a crowded ‘hood, but in wealthy, affluent, convenient Johnson County, KS. I have 4 Wal-Marts within 10 minutes of my house, like 20 within 20 minutes. Heck, 135th st has 2 Wal-Marts, a Sam’s Club, 3 Price Choppers, and at least 5 Mc Donald’s-all on one friggin’ street. (Is “friggin” a cuss word?)

I am not merely clothed, I have designer jeans, name brand underwear, new socks, a catalog-company shirt and a super warm fleece. And shoes. And that isn’t merely what I am wearing today, but my drawers and closets are full of nice clothing.

Shelter, clothing…FOOD. Yeah, fridge stocked with it, freezer in the basement, cupboards and pantry full of it. I am at least 50 pounds over weight.

Transportation, check. I have 2 minivans. That alone makes me wealthier than 92% of the world.

So, I guess what I am saying is that I have much to be thankful for and, that ultimately, I am blessed WAY beyond Grace. I have an awesome family. My wife loves me. I have 4 healthy boys. I have 2 wiener dogs (Dash & Izzy) that are mostly potty trained. I have a great job and so does my wife. I have an XBOX360 and a Wii. Ahh, blessed. I have friends who love me (or at least love to make fun of me). I am mostly healthy. I am somewhat intelligent and educated. I go to a great church with a great support system. I work with great people.

You can’t get much better than that.

Here is the Beechner family Christmas card 2007. Derin & Minnie are in the back. Then Keegan is on the right left and Kaleb on the left right, they will be 12 in mid January. Calvin will be 4 in mid December and Corbin will be 2 at the end of January.

Beechner Family Christmas Pic

Notice the sledding pics?

Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays & Happy New Year,

-Derin-

4 responses to “Blessed Beyond Grace and Giving Thanks

  1. Nice! That photo is absolutely precious and you have a lovely family. Can you say “DARLING” kids? Oh my goodness – you really are blessed. What sweethearts!

    See? Life is pretty good, yes? Even when we’re stuck in the mullygrubs, we still have it pretty darn good in the USA. I’m a curmudgeon and always will be – I gripe and complain on my blog – and I think it makes me a happier person overall. I get my anger out and then live happy with my family.

    It’s all good! Enjoyed the post.

    Derin Says: DG, thanks for the kind words. I guess I am in a season of whining and complaining. I am trying to get over it. I am glad you enjoyed the post, stop by ANYTIME!

  2. I do love to make fun of you… for example:

    That IS a nice photo! You are much more attractive in the picture than in real life!

    Derin Says: I clean up pretty good.

  3. Well said. You (and all of us, really) are definitely blessed beyond the gift of Grace. I wasn’t joking when I said like 4/5ths of the dudes in the world would part with their left you-know-what to be you. Great blogs and great family! Your kids are growing up so fast.

    Derin Says: Thanks Joe. YOU GOT A BLOG? Lemme check it out…SWEET I am gonna go read it and comment right now! SWEET!

  4. I like “Frell”, or “Frellin'”.

    It’s this nice cross between a couple of popular bad-words, slang-words, or what have you words.

    So I can say “Hey, what the frell?”, and no one knows… Is he going to hell for saying h-e-double hockey-sticks? Has he marked himself a social pariah for referencing unlawful carnal knowledge? Or perhaps he has left polite society gasping in the miasma of his verbal flatulations with a clever combination of the two …?

    But little do they know that THE JOKE’S ON THEM – because I don’t mean either! :-)>
    It’s just a nonsense word in which my feeble mind takes refuge when trying to express strong emotion! Bwah-hah-hah-hah-hah…. good stuff.

    Well, sort of let the cat out of the bag on frell, didn’t I. Word will travel, Durk, so use it quickly if you want to revel in the full ooey-gooey-goodness of the word before the revelation of it’s secrets strips it of all it’s creamy center and leaves only the partially hydrogenated yellowing husk of a once brilliant new not-naughty word.

    I can certify it as 100% not a naughty word, as it has neither religions or sexual implications, nor Saxon origins.

    Actually, all kidding aside, it’s something they use on sci-fi, if I’m not mistaken. So, you know, could mean anything.

    Derin Says: Frell Yeah! Man that sounded nice! You rock so hard core Joe!

Leave a Reply

