Celebrate the Day That Christ was Born to Die

I love the Advent season. It is a season of anticipation. It is also a season of Christmas music. At the Home Depot they have been playing Christmas music since Black Friday.  I am about sick of it.  And I couldn’t figure it out at first…I mean yeah you hear the same song every 45 minutes, by a different artist, sung completely different, and sometimes, most depressingly, in a country style, but why do I have this urge to remove my eardrums out of my head with a utility knife?  And then it dawned on me:  None of the songs were actually about the birth of Christ!  They were all commercial Christmas music for the most part. Songs about winter and snow and lights and Christmas trees.  Trite and familiar and it is supposed to make people happy. It just pushes me closer to the postal edge.  I’ll give you a white Christmas in a winter wonderland…  Willie Nelson sings Christmas songs?  Brings shivers to my spine.

On a different note…(get it, on a different NOTE?  Because music is made up of notes?  And I’m talking about music…Yeah, pretty funny stuff!)

Ever since City On A Hill: Its Christmas Time came out I have been hooked. I hope you will check out the link and buy a copy of it, you will not be disappointed. It is Christmas worship pure and simple. There is one song in particular that cuts into my heart, it is an original song (new) and it is sung by Jars of Clay, but the lyrics just tear me up. It is talking about Mary: “…you gave birth to the death that would bring us to life.” Just insanely powerful. Jesus was born with one purpose: To die for our sins so that we may truly live.

The other series that I just can’t get enough of is BEC’s Happy Christmas volumes 1-4. There are many traditional songs that are sung traditionally and some that are sung with a rock edge. And some original stuff on it too. Here is my favorite song of the series by Reliant K. Click on the link to see the youtube video and hear the song.

Reliant K-I Celebrate the Day

Again, Christ came to this earth and was born to die so that one day I would pray that he would save my life. Wow. Incredible. Powerful. Simple and profound. It just makes me want to fall and worship the Christ Child and anticipate his return.

Jesus is the reason for the season.

Happy Christmas,

-Derin-

7 responses to “Celebrate the Day That Christ was Born to Die

  1. I’d walk through all of hell and half of Texas just to hear Willie Nelson sing a country song

    Derin Says: All of hell but only half of Texas, now THAT is funny partner! Ah Dave…hope you are well up in your corner of the Promised Land (that there is heavenly talk for “Iowa”). Peace, friend.

  2. Jesus is not the reason for the season if you are not Christian. I will continue to call it Christmas though. I realize that was the original intention of the holiday when it started around 200AD. I also realize the first 5 letters of the holiday. However, in our American culture, it means family togetherness, forgiveness, charity and goodwill toward others. It probably means other things to other people as well.

    I agree with you on the Christmas music. I enjoy it in small doses. I hope you and your family have a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

    Derin Says: Thanks for stopping by Jeff, you are more than welcome here. Even if you are not a Christian the reason that the holiday came into existence is because of the birth of Christ…and some pagan traditions and some American legislation to deem it a holiday. I get your point. In our American culture it means different things to different people. It is kinda like Independence Day, to some it is just a holiday, a reason to skip work and light stuff on fire and watch stuff blow up…but the origin and the historical origins are important to better understand the holiday. Even the meanings that you site, “family togetherness, forgiveness, charity and goodwill toward others” originated with the original spirit of the celebration of the Christ Child…

    -family-the nativity,
    -togetherness-again, the Christmas story,
    -forgiveness-the heart of the Gospel and message of Christ,
    -charity-the theme of the message of God’s children and
    -goodwill toward others-the heart of the summation of the “greatest Commandment”

    I understand that not all will acknowledge Christ nor study their history. And I also understand that the holiday has become to mean other things…but the reason that people celebrate Advent and Christmas…at least originally…is Christ.

    Thanks for stopping by Jeff. I hope you may experience the Reason for the Season for yourself one day soon.

  3. I do agree with your response—mostly, however, I do believe I am experiencing the reason for the season, just as you do. I do not believe the absense of Christ means I am missing the reason for the season. I also realize the original intention of Christmas. I would also argue that I study Christianity more than most people that claim to be Christians. I am much like a guy on a boat looking for the lighthouse. The lighthouse might be Christ and if it is, I am sure the boat will lead me there someday.

    We both celebrate Independence Day for the same reason. Even though I used to work in a fireworks store, I do celebrate our nation’s independence and rarely blow stuff up. 🙂

    Derin Says:

    I hope you may experience Jesus Christ as the Reason for the Season for yourself one day soon.

  4. I think the important thing is that we seize the season and make it our own.

    1 – retailers and advertisers will try to make me a juicy morsel cast into the gaping maw of a ravenous consumer economy.
    2 – Christians will try to tell me that it’s about Jesus, who was in all likelihood born in summertime, and seemed much more concerned with my celebrating his communion than with me celebrating his b-day.
    3 – Work will try to tell me that it’s about doing twice the work than we did in November with half the staff.

    I say it’s about a beautiful dis-proportion between investment and reward.
    – big warm-fuzzies from holding little babies
    – big excitement from little packages
    – big refreshment from little naps
    – big unwinding from little stress reduction
    – big hugs from little girls.

  5. My “hair-splitting” alert is going off. Is it not obvious that:

    1. There wouldn’t be a Christmas holiday and all that it has grown into without Christ and so yes, he IS the reason for the season?

    2. Christmas started spiritual, was secularized, and has become both of those and everything in between depending on a persons point of view?

    Perhaps we can say that Christ is the origin of the season, though in recent millenniums people have found meaning in the celebration even though they don’t follow Christ. Now I’M splitting hairs…

    Anyhow, this Christmas was a multi-faceted success for me – spiritual, commercial, etc. I hope it was for all of you as well!

  6. Actually, Christmas started secular, then was about Christ, and is “secularized” again-cause if I remember correctly, Christmas was originally a pagan holiday that the church took over. As far as how Christmas was celebrated by pagans I’m not sure, I need to look into that more.

  7. That is true –

    I usually only consider the last couple hundred years and assume we’re talking about American Christmas culture since American consumer culture is always at the center of the debate.

Leave a Reply

