New Love

I have a new love.  And this new love is exciting and everything is new and bright and our relationship is smooth and delightful!  And a HUGE shout out to Joe M. for uniting us.  Of course I am talking about my new Sprint Mogul PPC phone from HTC, the HTC 6800.

[rockyou id=122406200&w=500&h=250]

My good buddy Joe works near the marketing group at Sprint.  He receives phones FOR FREE!  I was WAAAY jealous when he first got the Mogul-it is the next version up from my 6700.  We were IMing each other a couple of weeks ago and I asked him if he was still using his Mogul Phone.  He replied that he had moved on and offered the phone to me.  HECK YA!  I didn’t even have to ask or beg (and I would have)!  Thanks Joe!  Really, if you would like my first born, Kaleb is all yours!  Heck I’ll even throw in Keegan for good measure (I’ll still be getting the better deal)!

The HTC 6800 is the next version of the UTStarcom 6700.  Audiovox became UTStarcom who became HTC.  These Pocket PC phones come with a mobile version of Windows which allows them to do just about everything-games, contacts, email, pocket Word, Excel, PowerPoint, and Access and much, much more.  Here are a couple of my reviews.

The Mogul is not a new phone, it has been out for well over a year, but it has the few features that have become a must for me as it relates to PPC phones: a touch screen, a slide-out keyboard, Windows Mobile which allows one to sync up to email and contacts.  I say this because of the few phones that have entered the market lately (the Touch, I-Phone, Instinct, Blackberrys, etc) they seem to fail in one area or another.

The Mogul phone has all of the features of the 6700:

  • Windows Mobile 6.1 (email, contacts, Word, Excel, etc.)
  • Bluetooth (wireless headset/ear piece), Built-in Wifi (with a very handy on/off switch)
  • Voice dialing, picture contacts
  • Internet browser
  • Games, camera, mobile Windows Media, etc

The Mogul is smaller, thinner and more sleek-looking than the PPC 6700.  The screen is also visibly brighter and clearer.  It sounds better (better to play music on).  There are a few more ergonimically-placed buttons that make the phone much easier to use.  The camera is 2.0 Mega Pixels instead of the 1.3 that the 6700 has.  Even though the 6700 was GPS-capable, the manufacturer and the service privider deliberately disabled it and it could not be enabled.  GPS is finally enabled and works great on the 6800.  The battery life is substantially better.

I like to actually use my phone-to take advantage of the features.  I have 3 email accounts on my phone, Yahoo, Hotmail and an email account that syncs up to my corporate email account.  I downloaded and installed (free) Google Maps-it works with the built-in GPS.  HTC has a great (free) today plug-in that allows you use picture contacts and easily check the weather.  I also use a couple of (free) push programs to check news and such-Yahoo Mobile, Avant Go (Movie Habit channel), On Demand, I think Google and MSN may have downloadable apps as well.

Here are a couple of handy sites to download free and not-so-free software:

Many popular websites have also gone mobile!  Here is a small list:

Flash memeory is cheap nowadays.  I purchased a 4GB Micro memory stick at Microcenter for $19!

If I HAD to pick something negative to say about the phone it is the stylus.  It is telescoping and it slides from the bottom up.  HOWEVER, it ALWAYS fits snugly!  I won’t be losing it like I did the other 57 with the other phone.

I will continue to let you know how I am using my phone and how it is performing.  So far I love it!

-Derin-

One response to “New Love

  1. WOW When I was getting my new phone, I told the guy I just wanted a phone that could text and had the fewest amount of buttons. Too many buttons just confuse me. Different strokes for different folks, huh?

Leave a Reply

