I Had Too Much to Dream (Last Night)

I don’t remember many of my dreams.  Dreams as in the movies that play in your brain while you are asleep, not life ambitions.  I don’t know if dreams get weirder or more real as a result of what you eat before bed.  I think popcorn triggers odd dreams for me.  I’m not too sure what I ate last night…pork chops, mashed potatoes, green beans…  I did not have Electric Prunes (wink).

Dreams are weird.  One frequently recurring dream I have is about my teeth falling out!  They get loose, I mess with them and OOPS, I pull one out!  Or I make it a little looser than it should and I try to kinda shove it back into place!  I always wake up and check my teeth!  There are lots of theories out there as to the possible meaning of such dreams.  Here are a few offerings from just one of many websites, Dream Moods had these offerings:

…dreams about your teeth reflect your anxieties about your appearance and how others perceive you…”

Another rationalization for these falling teeth dreams may be rooted in your fear of being embarrassed or making a fool of yourself in some situation.”

Teeth are used to bite, tear, chew and gnaw. In this regard, teeth represent power. And the loss of teeth in your dream may be from a sense of powerlessness.

“A scriptural interpretation for bad or falling teeth indicate that you are putting your faith, trust, and beliefs in what man thinks rather than in the word of God. The bible says that God speaks once, yea twice in a dream or a vision in order to hide pride from us, to keep us back from the pit, to open our ears (spiritually) and to instruct and correct us.

Another explanation though is that when I was a kid I lost my teeth pretty late (I was a preemie).  I remember going to an Iowa wresting match and pulling out 3 teeth!  I also have skinny teeth-fragile teeth.  So who knows.

I had a dream once and I remember thinking, “I could make a book or a movie out of this one!”  It had character development, a beginning an action-packed middle and even a great twisted ending!  And it was fairly original!  I woke up, told myself that this could be it!  Smiled, fell back to sleep…and you guessed it, I never could remember it.  They say you should keep a notebook by your bed to write dreams down.

My friend in college had such weird and horrific dreams that he learned how to take control and steer his dreams!  Yeah, pretty Nightmare-on-Elm Street-ish.  I had another friend who practiced Wicca and believed that he could enter into other people’s dreams and ultimately kill them.  He used to walk up to other people and tell them what they dreamed the day before.  Weird.  I have met people (usually guys) who say they have never had a dream that they can remember.  And people (usually gals) who say they have a dream every night that they vividly remember.

My wife has nightmares fairly regularly.  Quite a few years ago she woke up one morning angry as all get out at me!  I mean she was ticked!  When I asked her what was wrong she said, “You know what you did!”  She took a shower, after she was done I asked her again and she hadn’t a clue what I was talking about!  She totally forgot the dream!  One of my twins and also my youngest has nightmares.  Corbin climbed in be last night because he had a bad dream.  I remember talking to my younger twin Keegan about a bad dream many years ago.  He was pretty little and frustratingly described that a giant “square” was chasing him.  I asked him to describe the square…it looked kinda like a mouse and had a long bushy tail…OH, a Squirrel!  Poor guy!

Why all this blogging about dreams?

I had a dream about my dad last night.  It makes me think of the first time I had a dream about my dad after he died.  It was pretty much an ordinary dream, a family visit or whatever, but somewhere in the middle of it I was chatting with my dad, and suddenly I realized that I was having a chat with my dad!  My dad who had died.  He seemed kinda oblivious to it, I mean we were having a chat!  But I knew that I had my dad back for a moment.  I knew I had something special.  And it made me smile.  And so I tired my best to savor it.  That was about the time I woke up.

I miss him much.

What’s in your dreams?

-Derin-

Leave a Reply

