My Weirdest Pet Peeves

My biggest pet peeves involve toothpaste, bad customer service, waiting, and being late, especially to church.

Pet Peeve

There's two kinds of people in the world, those that squeeze the toothpaste correctly and those that do not. I know what you're thinking, it is similar to the whole toilet paper debate, but you're wrong. You don't use toothpaste on your bottom. Toothpaste tubes are fragile, important, they need to be treated kindly. One doesn't just grab and squeeze. NO! You squeeze from the bottom, FROM THE BOTTOM to the top. Love your toothpaste and it will love you.

When you are standing in a checkout line and the cashier and the bagger (or other server or attendant) are gossiping about their boyfriends or drama with management or WHATEVER while they completely ignore the customer, yeah, that doesn't want me to visit your store again, ever.

I went to a McDonald's years ago. The kid taking orders already had a few trays off to the side with receipts of unfilled orders. He took my order then grabbed a tray, put my receipt on the tray and slid it off to the side. He took another order and started to put the trays on the other side of his cash register. He took a few more orders and ran out of room. As he was looking around for more space I said, "why don't you try filling the orders".

When I tell (not ask) my 4-year old to "come here, please" (or to stop, stay, quiet, etc) and he looks at me, a flash of comprehension crosses his face and then he turns around and walks away, that makes me want to have one less child. It is a conscience choice to make dad mad. Sometimes my wife does it too. And my wiener dogs.

I don't know how weird it is, but one of my biggest pet peeves is being late, especially to church. It isn't because I just can't wait to go to church. It is mostly a frustration when I am involved, in other words I don't care if others are late, but I hate to be late. I look at a worship service as a whole, there is a beginning a middle and an end. I hate missing the first 10 minutes of a movie. It is like that. I hate to be late in general. I hate to keep people waiting. I just don't like to be late. The rest of my family feels differently, they site something about being fashionably late. They make stuff up like that.

I also detest waiting for someone. Not so much because they aren't on time, but because I am waiting. On them. To get there. To meet me. Soon. And they aren't there. I continually get more nervous the longer I have to wait. "Am I early?", "Am I at the wrong location?", "Are they OK?" "Did I get the day wrong?" "Are they already here?" "Am I late?" "Are they watching me make a fool out of myself waiting?" And on and on, all the while getting more fidgety, frustrated and freaked out!

Two, too and to. There and they're. You're and your. Know the proper word people, please. Otherwise it just makes you look dumb, and most of you aren't dumb. However I don't care about its and it's. I know what you mean.

What are your pet peeves?

Powered by Plinky

2 responses to “My Weirdest Pet Peeves

  1. People who nod and say, “yeah”, but don’t actually agree with you.

    I asked my kids — they said, “Tattling”. They are right… I dislike tattling. Is there blood? A Flood? A fire? No? Then you’d better go figure it out on your own. If there is sin? Then you’d better pray with them first, before you go to your brother (or mother).

    My stomach – no I’m not pregnant. So really my pet peeve is… if you don’t hear it from me — then I’m not pregnant. Don’t ask me unless you don’t really care to use your lips to speak again in the near future.

    TV – my kids are so funny… video games. They know me so well LOL They just suck your brains cells right out of your head with no resistance from you whatsoever. :sigh: Books are so much better.

    I think I’ll go take a nap now. I hope my bad grammar didn’t get on your nerves to much. or my repeated-ed use of … Ü Thanks for asking b.t.w.

  2. I thought I’d reply to you’re post, to, Derin. They’re isn’t enough space two list all available pet peeves…

    All right, that should about do it…Derin’s new pet peeve is now Dave:-)

    Me: Y’know, I ALMOST edited your comment! Aww Dave you’re not a new pet peeve, I’ve known you for a very long time!

Leave a Reply

